State of Transparency


24&25 May 2019
Symposium and Exhibition

The Large Glass Department is turning 50 and we are very pleased to invite you to our exhibition opening at Looiersgracht 60 and two-day symposium on Friday 24 May and Saturday 25 May at the Gerrit Rietveld Academie

Over the two days of the symposium, the invited speakers will take performative, philosophical and pragmatic positions to think through what are the implications of transparency in the cultural discourse, the transparency of art education, as well as the future of glass as an artistic medium.

The State of Transparency symposium programme includes Cissie Fu (Dean of Culture + Community, Emily Carr University), Dafna Kaffeman ( Artist, Glass Department Alumni), Jeroen Boomgaard (LAPS, Rietveld Academie), Richard Meitner, (Artist, former head of Glass Department) and Tim Ingold (Chair of Social Anthropology at the University of Aberdeen, author).

Participating artists in the State of Transparency exhibition are Maria Barnas, Gwenneth Boelens, Ruta Butkute, Mio Fujimaki, Jason Hendrik Hansma, Saskia Noor van Imhoff, David Jablonowski, Katrin Korfmann, Navid Nuur, Fahrettin Örenli, Jens Pfeifer, Laura Puska, Thomas Rentmeister, Judith Roux, Mirre Yayla Seur and Beny Wagner.

Symposium Day I
Date: 24 May
Time: 12.30 - 17.30h
Speakers: Tim Ingrid, Dafna Kaffemanm Jens Pfeifer.
Location: Gerrit Rietveld Academie, Fedlev Building - Large Auditorium

Symposium Day II
Date:25 May
Time: 12.30 - 17.40
Speakers: Eloise Sweetman, Cissie Fu, Richard Meitner, Jeroen Boomgaard
Location: Gerrit Rietveld Academie, Fedlev Building - Large Auditorium

Birthday Party
Date: 24 May
Time: 20.30 - end
Location: Van Tetterode Glass, Tt. Vasumweg 261, Amsterdam

Exhibition Opening State of Transparency
Date 25 May Time: 18.00 - 21.00h
Location: Looiersgracht 60, Looiersgracht 60

Due to limited capacity, we ask you to book your symposium tickets online for 30e (40e at the door). One-day tickets are also available for 20e. The birthday party is included in the price, tickets for the party only are 10e. Student admission is free upon validation of your student card at the door. Please register through this link.

For the full programme and registration see:
Organisation: Jens Pfeifer / Eloise Sweetman / Marie de Bruyn
All communication via



The Large Glass department's 50 years celebration is made possible by the support of the Prins Bernhard Cultuur Fund.