03.11.2017 - 11.11.2017
Gerrit Rietveld Academie Awards Show
Looiersgracht 60

Opening: Friday 3 November 2017, 5PM
Opening hours: Wed - Sun 12-8PM

Gerrit Rietveld Academie annually presents SELECTED: an exhibition with work of selected graduates. Participants of the exhibition have all been nominated during the Graduation Show for the annual ‘GRA Awards’ by an independent jury. This year we are collaborating for the second time with Looiersgracht 60 to present the exhibition. The show will be on view from 3-11 November 2017.

SELECTED Salon I - Thursday 9 November - 5 to 7PM

Curator Noor Mertens will interview the participants during her route through the exhibition at the Looiersgracht 60.

SELECTED Salon II - Friday 10 November - 5 to 7PM

Thesis Salon: CRYPT FEELING 

A score moderated by Ivan Cheng

with SELECTED nominees:

What The Hair Are We Doing? (Krisztina Czika) 

The Company We Keep (Elisabeth Rafstedt) 

Scissors are Sweet and Heal Wounds (Elfi Seidel) 

[Sic] (Giorgos Tsiongas)

It's possible to view the theses at the Boekmanstichting for one more month, but by appointment only.

To get the latest news see also the Facebook event.

The participants of SELECTED 2017 are: 

Autonomous Arts

Finn Godwin (Fine Arts) 

Anton Lyngdal (The Large Glass)

Sophie Serber (Fine Arts) - not participating in the show -


Winner: Sophie Serber 

The jury for autonomous arts this year consists of independent curator Melanie Bühler and Niels van Tomme, director of de Appel arts centre. 


Applied Arts

Frédérique Albert-Bordenave (Inter-Architecture)

Anouk Beckers (Fashion and Textile) 

Boris Kollár (Fashion)


Winner: Frederique Albert-Bordenave

The jury of applied arts this year consists of artist Batia Suter and Angelique Spaninks, director of MU Artspace and STRP Biënnale. 



Krisztina Czika (designLAB)

Evelina Jonsson (Fine Arts)

Elisabeth Rafstedt (Graphic Design)

Elfi Seidel (VAV-moving image)

Giorgos Tsiongas (Fine Arts) 


Winner: Evelina Jonsson 

This year the jury consisted of Ed van Hinte, design critic, Jasper Coppes, visual artist and writer, and Jeroen Boomgaard, Professor of art and public space here at Rietveld Academie.  

The GRA Award is a prize that is given each year by the Rietveld Academie to talented students, nominated by an external jury, to support them in further developing their independent art practice. Participating graduates work in the fields of design, fine arts, graphic design, fashion and new media and graduated from the Rietveld Academie.