After two online editions, the Gerrit Rietveld Academie is pleased to announce that the exhibition Rietveld Uncut and Studium Generale's conference festival will once again take place in the Stedelijk Museum Amsterdam. From 23 to 26 March 2022, urgent questions about our oceans will take centre stage in the exhibition and during the conference.

Studium Generale Rietveld Academie is an extensive theoretical programme of the Rietveld Academie. This year, the theme is Oceanic Imaginaries. Based on this theme, students develop projects that are exhibited in the Rietveld Uncut exhibition. This presentation takes place simultaneously with the concluding conference festival. Making and thinking come together during masterclasses, projects and performances.

The academic year 2021-2022 focuses on urgent questions about our oceans. The oceans are conceived as entities that feel, remember and connect. In an ecological sense, they are critical zones that demand a shift in our thinking and actions. They are places that harbour suppressed stories of transatlantic trade in enslaved people and boat refugees on the Mediterranean. But the oceans can also be experienced as spaces of transformation and liberation in which new identities and relationships emerge. 

For Rietveld Uncut, Rietveld students and departments worked out projects under the supervision of the permanent curators Tomas Adolfs and Tarja Szaraniec.

In addition to the departments Jewellery - Linking Bodies, the Large Glass, Photography and VAV - moving image, the following students are participating individually:  Astrid Ardagh, Olivier Arts/Jill van Grinsven/Jakke Jalink & Lova Yu 鱼立尧, Njaay Mame Saliou Assile & Erin McClain, Kaja Boudewijn, Mara-Luna Brandt Corstius, Dennis Buckland & Aljoscha Lahner, Killian Butler, Sofia Fernandez Blanco, Sigríður Hannesdóttir, Dimme van Harten & Jakob Hodel, Özgür Deniz Koldaş, Ingeborg Kraft Fermin, Paula Megija Kārkliņa, Tobias Mud, Marlies Neugebauer, Karla Nilzen & Aimée Phillips, Siwon Noh, Captain Aurelia Noudelmann & Laetitia Delauney, Colin Oord, Albert Rask, Mie Rygh Reianes, Anton Shebetko, Maud Talma, Lucía Vives & Sam Fuentes, Inès Vivier, Walking Club, Catherine Zixin Hu & Chaemin Hwang.

Photo's by Dawid Dobosz